Review: Girl Next Door by Saving Jane

Small town homecoming queen
She’s a star in this scene
There’s no way to deny she’s lovely
Perfect skin, perfect hair
Perfumed hearts everywhere
Tell myself that inside she’s ugly

Maybe I’m just jealous-I can’t help but hate her
Secretly I wonder if my boyfriend wants to date her

She is the prom queen, I’m in the marching band
She is a cheerleader, I’m sitting in the stands
She gets the top bunk, I’m sleeping on the floor
She’s Miss America
And I’m just the girl next door

Senior class president
She must be heaven sent
She was never the last one standing
A backseat debutante
Everything that you want
Never too harsh or too demanding

Maybe I’ll admit it, I’m a little bitter
Everybody loves her, but I just wanna hit her…

Chorus

I don’t know why I’m feeling sorry for myself
Spend all my time wishing that I was someone else

Chorus
I get a little bit, she gets a little more
She’s Miss America
And I’m just the girl next door

****** Talk about insecurity, yeah! This song actually moved up the charts of Jam 88.3, and with the dj’s opinion it’s because many girls can relate to it. Hey, all of us have different special traits! We are unique on our own declaration! (Hell, yeah we do…) But in real life this kind of thing happens… there’s always someone better than us, and that… we have to accept, right? But it’s never too late to improve and show to the world that we can make a difference… and not just hide under the shadow of those girls whom we think are perfect. They’re not. They just happened to be, well… noticed. Each star in the universe shine. Some maybe too bright but, the other stars shine too. It’s just that their time to shine their brightest hasn’t come. Wishing that were someone else doesn’t make us appreciate who we really are. So let’s take time to know ourselves better and love it!

Leave a Reply

