Review: My Girl & I [2005]

photo11502Korean Title: Pa-rang-joo-eui-boo
Directed by: Jeong Yoon-soo (정윤수)
Running Time: 95 mins.
Release date in South Korea : 2005/12/23

Cast:
Cha Tae Hyun as Su Ho
Song Hye Kyo as Su Eun

Plot: (yesasia.com)
Bright and beautiful high school student Su Eun (Son Hye Kyo) saves fellow student Su Ho (Cha Tae Hyun) from drowning in the ocean. Su Ho does not know who saved him until Su Eun confides in him that it was her, because she has a crush on the boy. After she lost her pager during her rescue attempt, Su Ho buys a new one for her so that they can communicate with each other in secret, afraid that Su Eun’s protective parents will discover their relationship. But just as love begins to blossom for the two youngsters, tragedy strikes in the cruelest of ways.

I Say…

To be honest, it’s quite disappointing. I’ve waited so long to see this movie, and I expected highly of My Girl and I, since it made way for Cha Tae Hyun & Song Hye Gyo to work together. These two are my favorite Korean actors! It was a dream to see them do a movie together! But I felt really disappointed. I don’t know… I just think that the movie lacks substance. It’s the same movie that will make you really hurt in the end, where someone dies and they don’t end up together. Of course, as expected of Hye Gyo-shi, she looked good on tv crying, so she would also look good in a movie crying. But I just thought that the given role wasn’t really unique, and it was depressing for Hye Gyo’s first movie. She could’ve chosen a project more challenging than her character on this one. This movie seemed to have combined a number of scenes from her previous TV series like Endless Love and Full House. There were bike scenes…. scenes taken on a boat and by the sea. They may all be coincidence since this is a remake of a Japanese movie (Crying Out Of Love From The Center of the Universe), but still, it is reminiscent. I have watched all Cha Tae Hyun movies and still I’m not yet used to seeing him do drama. But this is not as bad as Lover’s Concerto yet.

Not because I’m disappointed doesn’t mean I hate the movie big time. It is worth watching, if you wouldn’t consider the memories of Hye Gyo-shi’s smash hit drams. There’s a good thing I’ve noticed in this movie. They were given equal priorities, and their respective roles complement the other. Since koreans are not really fond of happy endings, tearjerkers are to be expected. There were also lots of beautiful shots from the movie. For me, this is not highly recommended but its worth the watch for all those who like Song Hye Gyo & Cha Tae Hyun.

Leave a Reply

