Review: Spirited Away [2001]

Japanese Title: Sen to Chihiro no Kamikakushi
Director: Hayao Miyazaki
Script: Hayao Miyazaki
Storyboard: Hayao Miyazaki
Music: Joe Hisaishi
Art director: Norobu Yoshida & Youji Takeshige
Premiere date: 2001-07-20 (Japan)
Running time: 125 minutes

Plot Summary: (from animenewsnetwork)

On their way to their new home, a young girl, Chihiro, and her parents stumble into what appears to be an abandoned theme park. But all is not as it seems, as the theme park is a resort for the gods, and not a place where humans are welcome. Chihiro must fend for herself and rescue her parents, as they have been turned to pigs as punishment for eating the food meant for the gods.

I Say…

It’s an old film which I have been ignoring. I call myself an anime fan… jeez. Having been bored by sitting around I have decided to see as much movies as I can while I’m home, and still have the time to do nothing. And I am targeting all my Studio Ghibli films to be exact. I promise to make more of these on the things that I have seen.

Again, hear me out. I was bored during the first hour, I guess, because the first scene wasn’t really interesting and I have to admit that the little girl wasn’t really a sight to see… but as the story moves on I already found her cute the way she is. And at the beginning some of the ideas are being given out but since you have no basis yet on what they are for I couldn’t process them in my head so I had to be patient and watch.

Yubaba is such a cute being for a monster of a lady… Haku’s mysterious aura makes me feel all giddy and I want to find out as soon as I can who he really is and how was he related to Chihiro in the past. The other characters remind me of Star Wars episode 1 and 4, because most of them are Jabba the Hutt look-a-likes in different colors and sizes. The skin and the gooey stuff even more. I like the characters a lot, even the No Face spirit following Sen around. I think I’ve become a fan of Spirited Away now… and I’m 5 years late in seeing it. Oh well, better late than never.

It’s not as spectacular and dynamic as other animation movies around, but it’s a good one, I can’t find the right word to describe it really. It’s for the viewers to find out themselves as they follow Chihiro/Sen’s adventure. And for the last piece of trivia according to my search, Spirited Away is actually the most famous Studio Ghibli film & the 1st anime to ever win an Academy Award! If I have known I shouldn’t have let the opportunity pass and watch it earlier than I have. For that, I feel regret. But, better late than never.

Leave a Reply

