Review: My Girl [2005]

My GirlKorean Title: Ma-i-geol
Episodes: 16
Broadcast network: SBS
Broadcast period: 2005-Dec-14 to 2006-Feb-02
Air time: Wednesday & Thursday 21:55

Production Credits:
Chief Producer:
Kim Young Sup
Producer: Bae Tae Sup
Screenwriter: Hong Jung Eun / Hong Mi Ran
Director: Jun Ki Sang
Asst. Director: Park Soo Chul

Cast:
Lee Dong Wook as Seol Gong-chan
Lee Da Hee as Joo Yoo-rin
Lee Joon Ki as Seo Jung-woong
Park Si Yeon as Kim Seo-hyun

Plot:
When Gong-chan (Lee Dong-wook) meets the lively and beautiful Yu-rin (Lee Da-hae), he finds out that she has connections to his missing cousin, who his grandfather has been searching for a long time. He asks Yu-rin to lie about being his long missing cousin until he can find his real cousin. She says yes, but soon their feelings for each other get in the way of their plans. Gong-chan’s friend Jung-woo (Lee Joon Ki) falls for Yu-rin while Gong-chan’s ex girlfriend, Seo-hyun (Park Si Yeon), who is a pro tennis player, tries to win him back. Will the two ever tell each other how they feel? Will Gong-chan ever find his real cousin?

I Say…

It’s been a long time since I’ve seen the series but I’ll do the review anyway. My excitement towards the plot hasn’t changed.

photo12008In the same line with certified high-rating Korean series like Full House (2004) and Goong (2006), My Girl was also taken from a manhwa. For me, it looks like it has become a trend among producers nowadays, bringing to life black and white characters only alive in the minds of its readers. Being so, the actors should have more motivation to act beautifully so as not to disappoint, first and foremost, the followers of the said manhwa. Now what do I think about My Girl? Well, as I have mentioned from a previous blog entry, I found the show pretty amusing, because I haven’t really seen Lee Da Hee act the way she did here. I haven’t seen Green Rose and I hated her role in Sweet 18, so I was surprised in her My Girl performance as Joo Yoo Rin. Well, I suddenly imagined Song Hye Gyo and thought that she could play “dumber” than Lee Da Hee. I don’t have anything against Lee Da Hee, I just thought “what if”, and I think Song Hye Gyo could’ve been a better Joo Yoo Rin.

Her leading men are both very handsome, especially Lee Jun Ki who could pass as a girl. My relatives were crazy for Lee Dong Wook-oppa, finding him reason to watch it every night when it was still on prime time TV.

I also thought that the show only hit the button because it was new and [Filipino] viewers like sensational shows, most especially dramas. But I watched it after the My Girl “wave” and found out that it’s good and not just tolerable.

Leave a Reply

