Review: Same Same – The Meaning of Happy (2006)

Track List:7224679

1. Supermodel  [Words & Music by Bob Moffatt, Clint Moffatt & Paul Cimolini]
2 .Citylights  [Words & Music by Bob Moffatt & Clint Moffatt]
3 Without You feat Lovi  [Music by Bob Moffatt, Clint Moffatt & Curious George; Words by Bob Moffatt, Clint Moffatt]
4. Downtown  [Words & Music by Bob Moffatt & Clint Moffatt]
I’m Still In Love With You  [Words & Music by Bob Moffatt & Clint Moffatt]
6. Love Isn’t  [Words & Music by Bob Moffatt & Clint Moffatt]
7. Strange Lover  [Words & Music by Bob Moffatt & Clint Moffatt]
8. Hearts Collide  [Music by Bob Moffatt & Clint Moffatt; Words by Bob Moffatt, Clint Moffatt & Prawech Nopnirapath]
9. The Meaning of Happy  [Words & Music by Bob Moffatt & Clint Moffatt]
10. Stay  [Music by Bob Moffatt & Clint Moffatt; Words by Bob Moffatt, Clint Moffatt & Prawech Nopnirapath]
11. I Waited Too Long  [Words & Music by Bob Moffatt & Clint Moffatt]
12. Tell Me  [Music by Bob Moffatt, Clint Moffatt & Warut Rintranukal; Words by Bob Moffatt & Clint Moffatt]
13. “Supermodel” Asian Embassy Remix  [Re-mixed by Michael “Mikey” Piroon of Asian Embassy]

I Say…

Finally, after failed attempts to find a copy for about 4 months now, I already got my copy of The Meaning of Happy CD. i don’t know why they won’t replenish stocks when they’re well aware that the racks are empty of Same Same.’s CDs.The only thing I could think of was that there were not enough album sales that they decided not to replenish, but any sales person could’ve explained they’ve been pulled out. But all these record shops I’ve visited and asked only told me they’re out of stock. Out of stock might mean two things: They won’t order for more or they’ve been ordering but it’s still not coming in. I don’t think it’d be good for their business if they keep answering that some CDs are out of stock. It means losing potential buyers, and it will surely lead to an impression that they’re not capable of providing for their customers’ needs.

Anyway, enough lecture on the cost of quality! Thank God I was able to get the CD locally hence, I’ll really use my Mom’s credit card and order one from Tower.com! Now I wouldn’t have to settle for mp3 samples! Yey!

Let me do my review 1, 2 or 3 songs at a time… it’s just that I have so much to say about it that way rather than collectively. Excuse me for my being excited , this review has been suspended four months!

Supermodel: Catchy…very catchy! I used to skip this track but now I’ve been listening to it more than I’ve been listening to other songs in the album. I can’t imagine this being a Hidell song… or maybe it could’ve sounded a lot differently if it were. I’m curious. =)

Citylights & The Meaning of Happy: Not a favorite, but I’m not skipping on it. It’s two of the many songs from the album I’m still pondering on up until now. I think that the sound’s something 80-ish… if you got what I mean.

Without You: This, for me, is the cutest song in the album. Frankly though, I prefer the one with Jacklyn Victor singing. Just..don’t ask. I like that version better. If I’m not mistaken, it became a movie theme… and I am so sure that movie’s really “kilig”! This love at first sight song really leaves “that” kind of feeling.

Downtown, I’m Still In Love With You & I Waited Too Long: I simply felt the Beatles’ influence in them, most especially for I’m Still In Love With You. If the Beatles were still alive ’til now I think they’d sound like Same Same if they sing these songs. Teehee! Way to go, Clint & Bob!

Love Isn’t: Simply put, it’s a “reality bites” song. Every time I listen to it, I can feel it talking to me. I love it. I just like what it’s trying to tell me & I believe the same thing. =)

Strange Lover: This is Clint’s [& also Bob’s as he tells it!] favorite song from the album. This is Same Same, adapting the Asian sound. The first time I listened to it, I was really paying attention to the lyrics, because of the intriguing title. Check out Farang Ja [it’s Thai version] and the video… it’s very “makulit”!

Hearts Collide, Stay & Tell Me: More love songs from The Meaning of Happy album! Here’s Clint & Bob pouring their hearts out, something they’re really good at. I couldn’t help but think how many heartbreaks could’ve possibly occurred during the time of their absence… because they’re really very sad! These three songs are not very difficult to relate to, if you’d ask me,

The Meaning of Happy as a whole: OK, I don’t want to sound biased if I say that it’s a good album… but it really is. You just have to listen to it as a whole, because it will be hard to capture the sense if you skip on tracks. This isn’t anything like their previous projects, so you’re definitely in for something different this time. Plus, it’s just Clint & Bob; not Clint & Bob from The Moffatts. It’s Clint & Bob Moffatt this time around.

Leave a Reply

