Review: One More Chance [2008]

one more chance posterDirected by: Cathy Garcia-Molina
Story & Screenplay: Carmi G. Raymundo, Vanessa R. Valdez

Cast:

John Lloyd Cruz as Popoy
Bea Alonzo as
Basha
Derek Ramsay as
Mark
Maja Salvador as Trisha

Plot (Star Home Video):

Will you change that love or love the change? For anyone who has loved… and lost.

Popoy (John Lloyd Cruz) and Basha (Bea Alonzo) have been together forever. Their love story started when they met as students in the university. Popoy was taking up engineering while Basha was in Architecture. They have been inseparable since. Everything is perfect.

At least that is what Popoy thinks.

Until one day, Basha suddenly asks for a break up to give her room to grow.

Will Popoy learn to let go?
Will Basha be able to move in completely?

I Say…

I know it’s a bit too late but this I have to do. I really need to praise my favorite love team once again. I am a huge fan of Bea-John Lloyd team and I’ve seen all of their movies together since day one. This time around, they have changed into more matured actors, as seen in every moment of this movie. All their movies were certified box office hits and to add to that long list, is One More Chance.

The story is good, and they were perfect. I’m sorry, but I really can’t help but praise every bit of what they have done! I also loved Maja and Derek’s respective characters… I can’t imagine the supportive new girlfriend to be another girl who’s not Maja Salvador. There were no annoying characters, only characters to love. They’re all important and it would feel different if one of them will be pulled out.

They seem to have used the same technique as other Star Cinema love stories, wherein they titillate their audience until the plot heightens and then they make you guess before it ends. I’m glad that they still stick to happy endings. I’ve changed a bit… since I love happy endings now more than tragedy. And in that light, it’s right to watch as many love stories as I can before I go back to my old liking.

Sorry for being such a sucker for Bea-John Lloyd films… One More Chance is really good. I think I’ll watch it again when I have the time.

Oh… and don’t you think our school looks great when looked at from that angle? It’s my favorite side of UST too… =)

Leave a Reply

