Review: My Amnesia Girl

MAGPromotionalPoster

    

     Starring: John Lloyd Cruz, Toni Gonzaga

     Directed by:  Cathy Garcia-Molina

     Running Time: 120 mins

     Release Date: November 2010

 

 Overview:

When Apollo (John Lloyd Cruz) finds himself surrounded by friends who are beginning to settle down, he is faced with the possibility of finding his true love. It all boils down to one name: Irene. It must be fate then, when he once again sees Irene (Toni Gonzaga), his ex-girlfriend from three years ago with whom he had the best memories with. Apollo and Irene were a perfect couple, and were engaged to be married. It all ended at the altar when Apollo had a bout of cold feet and left Irene alone in the aisle.

Now, Irene pretends to have no recollection of Apollo, having acquired “amnesia” shortly after their separation. Apollo sees this as the perfect opportunity to pursue Irene again, and be able to undo all the mistakes he made in the past, by offering Irene the best memories she could ever have.

True love is difficult to resist, they learn. Just when they find themselves ready to commit to each other, the pains from the past catch up with them, challenging them to finally own up to the mistakes made and lies said, and eventually realize what it is to forgive and forget.

Source: wikipedia

I Say…

Love super cheesy pick-up lines? They are here. They’re all here. All nonsense and funny cheesy pick-up lines in one movie. I think I’d freak out if even if it’s JLC talking to me with ‘that’. As in eww. Such a huge allergen.

Anyway… sorry for the delay… once a John Lloyd fan, always a John Lloyd fan so, My Amnesia Girl I needed to see. And I just did. Setting aside the allergic pick-up lines, it actually made me laugh. It wasn’t the story I was imagining in my head but I still found myself smiling… and giddy. It’s more of, like, a dream sequence to me. Admit it. It’s not realistic. Not even idealistic. But not bad. Who could think of commemorating and compressing all 28 birthdays in just one? Who would go down and back 12 floors not just once but countless times just to impress a girl and convince her that you’re stupid enough to do just that? I haven’t met such guy. We all have our limits. But since it’s a movie, it’s OK. Smile

But all those I mentioned made My Amnesia Girl a unique love story movie. A modern dalagang Filipina and masugid na manliligaw story… where most of us can relate to, I think.

There isn’t enough agony in this one unlike all other John Lloyd movies. But not bad. Even former basketball legend Atoy Co was cheesy here. I guess it’s alright to be cheesy sometimes…

my-amnesia-girl-movie

Leave a Reply

