Review: Daa! Daa! Daa! [1998]

daa3Mangaka: Kawamura Mika
Tankoubons: 9
Genre: shoujo, sci-fi, comedy
Publisher: Kodansha
Magazine: Nakayoshi

Plot (mangaupdates):
Miyu, whose mom was chosen to be an astronaut, was sent to live with Kanata, a boy she just met. Soon after, Kanata’s father leave the two to live alone. Amidst the panic, a mysterious UFO came… and out popped Ruu and his babysitter-pet Wannya. For the sake of Ruu, the four of them start living together……

I Say…

I didn’t have the chance to watch UFO Baby before, because a student like me needs to study.🙂 Furthermore, when I found out that the series is too long and fell under hiatus in its home network, I lost my interest. So, after all these years I settled to just read the manga. It’s almost the same as the crazy animated version, where Baby Ru (and Wannya) always bring Miu and Kanata chaos… that brought them closer together and eventually led to falling for each other. I just love guy characters like Saionji Kanata, who fake their feelings until it eats them up inside. Very typical of the male population, right? Protective yet won’t live a moment without teasing or making Miu feel bad for no reason at all. And Baby Ru is just the cutest of manga babies ever. I can’t wait to see him grow up in Shin Daa Daa Daa!

Although shoujo mangas give more emphasis on all the cute and sweet things, I find the parents’ characters very irresponsible and immature. I wouldn’t let my daughter or son live meither unguided nor unguarded while I leave to fulfill my dream of dissecting alien species for my country! I can’t tell who was worse actually… Miu and Kanata’s parents or Baby Ru’s.  I might be saying this out of shock from the cultural differences though, but I am not saying the manga is bad. Not bad, just unrealistic. Since it’s very cute you wouldn’t notice very much…

Daa! Daa! Daa! - v01

Daa!Daa!Daa! - Vol02 - Cover Daa!Daa!Daa!_Vol03_front Daa! Daa! Daa! - v04 c017 p000 Daa! Daa! Daa! - v05 c022 p000 Daa! Daa! Daa! v06 c27 - 000 Daa! Daa! Daa! v07 c32 - 000 Daa! Daa! Daa! v08 c38 - 000a Daa! Daa! Daa! v09 c42 - 000

Leave a Reply

