Review: A Hundred and One Reasons [2012]

A Hundred And One ReasonsAuthor: Bianca Salindong
Publisher: PSICOM Publishing
Year: 2012

About (goodreads):
There are still many things Ann needed to know, to explore and live the life she’d always imagined. But everything turned upside down when she learned that she is sick. Not cough and colds sick. No, something much complicated than that.

Ann decides that she’d rather fight when she knows she had no chances of winning. And then came a promise of a hundred and one reasons, from someone she never thought cared for her, and gave her the strength she needed to live. This is a story that goes beyond the boundaries of faith, family, hope and love… it may bring you to tears or give you the reasons to live than just to exist.

I Say…
I don’t want to sound mean or anything, but this book is just the worst I’ve ever read in my entire life. I can’t believe it went through any proofreading or editing. It was so raw I’d want to think of it as first draft. The essence of the story didn’t get through me, because I was more absorbed in trying to figure out the right spelling or spotting grammatically incorrect sentences. I don’t know perfect English, and I didn’t acquire a degree in English, but this book is poorly written.  The Filipino language can easily get through any Filipino reader, unlike the distorted English that will make your nose (maybe even the brain) bleed.

Also, it was so unorganized, and seemed to lack timing. One paragraph they’re in school, the next they’re home or doing something else. The flow of their conversation is unpredictable, afterwards almost senseless.

I would like to say sorry to the author, for saying all the most horrible stuff. But I seriously think you need to practice, work out on the phasing and organize the dialogues you generate.I think other Wattpad writers can write a better book yet they weren’t given the chance like you had. Please, always give your readers their money’s worth.

3 thoughts on “Review: A Hundred and One Reasons [2012]

  1. Hi. Thank you for your honesty.πŸ™‚ I wrote the book back in 2009, it was the very first story I’ve finished, I don’t have a degree in English as well as a degree in writing too and I am aware of the inconsistencies and errors in the story. I first posted the story in an online forum and I am also a wattpad writer (username:starsandmudpies) I do believe I need more practice in writing that’s why I need criticisms like this so I could learn to motivate myself to work harder. And I do believe I have improved.πŸ™‚ There are free stories that I wrote in my wattpad account that you could check out so you could see how much I have grown as a writer.πŸ™‚ Could you give me another chance by reading Sophia Strange or my other english stories so you could critique me again on how much more I need to learn? I do believe that there are writers who deserve more, but I also worked so hard while writing 101 Reasons. And I think I also deserve that chance. I will be releasing a sequel for 101 Reasons and I think it is better than the first one. I hope you’ll give me another chance. Thank you for your honesty. No harm done. I take criticisms as challenges because only through that can I become a more effective writer, since being a writer has always been my dream.πŸ™‚ Thank you again.πŸ™‚ – Bianca S.

    • First and foremost, I would like to thank you as well for visiting my humble webpage! Second, I’ll say another “thank you” taking the criticism I have given. I guessed that it might have appeared in an online forum somewhere, so that pretty much explains its rawness.

      I may have found A Hundred and One Reasons the worst but I admire your confidence and dedication as a writer. After what you have said, I suddenly wished that I can be as confident as you are with your stories. We are on the same boat, on wanting to be an efficient writer.πŸ™‚ But of course, mine is a different tale to tell. Until I feel confident enough I am going to stick to my review writing.

      With all honesty I really appreciate your reply. I’ll drop by your wattpad account soon and check on your other works. By the way, can I write something about A Hundred and One Reason’s sequel here in the future? It might be something different when that time comes…πŸ™‚

  2. of course you can always review the sequel once it’s out.πŸ™‚ And I hope by that time I will be able to prove myself as a writer.πŸ™‚ Or at least kahit konti lang. I really appreciate the critique. Thank you so much.πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

