Colorful [2010]

ColorfulAlternative Title: Karafuru
Director: Keiichi Hara
Screenplay: Miho Maruo
Author: Eto Mori
Studio: Ascension (animation); Sunrise (production)
Distributed by:   Tōhō
Release date: 21 August 2010
Running time: 127 minutes

Voice Actors:

Kazato Tomizawa as Makoto Kobayashi
Jingi Irie as Saotome
Akina Minami as Hiroka Kuwabara
Aoi Miyazaki as Shoko Sano
Akiyoshi Nakao as Mitsuru
Kumiko Aso as Makoto´s Mother
Katsumi Takahashi as Makoto´s Father
Michael as Purapura

Synopsis (MyAnimeList):
“I” died and was kicked out of the cycle of reincarnation because of the sin “I” committed. An angel told me that “I” won a lottery and he gave me a chance to remember the sin. My spirit possessed the body of the 14-year-old boy Makoto, who committed suicide and “I” tried to recollect my memory. “I” felt distressed by the terrible circumstances of Makoto and the fact that “I” was borrowing his body. “I” have started to realize that people are hurting each other because the world is too colorful to distinguish the true color of themselves from others.

Based on an award-wining first person narrative novel by Mori Eto. The movie won several awards in Japan.

I Say…

Colorful is a very intriguing and dramatic movie. The protagonist, Kobayashi Makoto is one lucky soul to be given a second chance to live. He refuses the opportunity in the beginning of the story, so I thought, how grave could the events of his past life be? Through Pura Pura, the “lucky soul” who got Kobayashi Makoto’s body found out why he even thought about killing himself. Being lonesome is fatal. As the story progressed, Makoto finally saw the beauty of life with his family and new found friend Saotome.

People who commit suicide are still unknown creatures to me. Life is full of torture and hardship. One will never be brave enough to face it with death.

Leave a Reply

