Strobe Edge [2007]

Strobe Edge v10 - CoverMangaka: Io Sakisaka
Tankoubon: 10
Magazine: Betsuma
Publisher: Shuiesha

About (mangaupdates):
Having no experience in romance, the vibrant Ninako curiously explores the meaning of what “love” really is, and is surprised to feel a colorful range of emotions as she grows closer to the school heartthrob, the quiet yet gentle Ren, who also happens to be involved in a longtime relationship. With every intention of keeping her head held high, Ninako prepares to face the mental pain of this one-sided love that she had allowed to take root, facing a series of trials that would either contribute to her growth as a headstrong woman, or break her as it did with other girls.

However, is this really a one-sided love? Or had something been silently sown in the most hidden part of Ren’s heart?

I Say…

I think I may have a bit of hang over from the latest Toni Gonzaga movie that I kind of guessed this story will get messed up in the end. What I meant with saying messed up is that the heroine, not ending up with the person she loves in the beginning of her own story. You see, I give up a fraction of my own idealism every time I read. I always want stories to end the way they should. I don’t have anything against happy endings, they’re beautiful… but not all happy endings are beautiful. Every ending has to be realistic to be beautiful, right? That’s my mind, speaking. Sorry about that.

Since it took away my precious sleep, I might as well make a great, positive response to Strobe Edge. Not to short, not too long. The turn of events are good, just my ideal shoujo manga. This can be in the league right next to Crazy For You and Kimi Ni Todoke (both done by Shiina Karuho btw). You get a lot of those heart-squeezing moments, yet you choose to go on and on. I wanted an unexpected pair to emerge, but that didn’t happen. (SPOILER) I just love Ninako’s reply to the much-awaited confession that almost never happened… her heart and soul was all out and her innocence added up a bit humor.

I became a high school kid for a few hours… and now I can’t sleep. It’s all because of Ren, maybe. This is even better than G2B!

StrobeEdge_v01_ch01_p000a    Strobe-Edge-v02ch05-p000a     Strobe-Edge-v03ch08-p000a

Strobe-Edge-v04ch12-p000     Strobe-Edge-v05ch16-p000     Strobe-Edge-v06ch20-p000

Strobe Edge v07 - Cover     Strobe Edge v08 c27 - 000     Strobe Edge v09 c31 - 000

Leave a Reply

