Review: Rurouni Kenshin Complete Collection (Album)


Rurouni Kenshin Complete CollectionArtist: V.A.
Release Date: 2011.07.27
Publisher Product Code:    SVWC-7682
No. of Tracks: 11


01.Sobakasu (Judy and Mary)
02.Tactics (Yellow Monkey)
03.Namida Ha Shitte Iru (Mayo Suzukaze)
04.Heart Of Sword (T.M.Revolution)
05.1/2 (Makoto Kawamoto)
06.The Fourth Avenue Cafe (L’Arc~en~Ciel)
07.It’s Gonna Rain! (Bonnie Pink)
08.1/3 No Junjou Na Kanjou (Siam Shade)
09.Kimi Ni Fureru Dake De (Curio)
10.Dame! (Izumi You)
11.Niji (L’Arc~en~Ciel)

Like most Rurouni Kenshin enthusiasts say, the theme songs and BGMs are entirely in contrast with the anime’s setting. Being set in the Meiji era, the music gave the series distinction and added appeal to its audience. Rock and Meiji era? Old & new? Something like that. RK’s themes featured the cream of the crop J-pop and J-rock artists, and made the series even more catchy. Listening to the newest release of the theme collection cd really brought back lots of RK memories. My jrock addiction actually began with RK music. I used to be more into J-pop, but the tracks in this collection changed my life in ways I cannot imagine.

This album will surely bring you back in time, if not in the Meiji era. Childhood perhaps? Or your awkward days? Name it. This music collection is a “time capsule” for all Rurouni Kenshin fans like me.